The World Government are an improvising funky dance band from Bristol.

Organised by guitarist Chris Powell, the band line-up draws on a large pool of talented professional musicians, and like the best afrobeat and funk bands, everyone is in the rhythm section.

What makes people dance? It’s the groove! Which is why so many top drummers are part of the World Government story, including: Maff Scott (The Egg), Matt Jones (Zun Zun Egui, Phantom Limb), Ian Mathews (Kasabian), Clive Deamer (Radiohead Portishead Get The Blessing, Robert Plant), Errol Flynn (The Moonflowers), Daisy Palmer (Goldfrapp), percussionist Lisa Cherian, Laurie Hedger, Scott Hammond (Jethro Tull),  Andy Tween (Seth Lakeman), Craig Connet (The Happy Mondays, Joss Stone, Marcus Bonfanti, Joe Bonamassa, Sandi Thom, The Christians), Tom Gilkes, Emma Holbrook, Arj Magee.

Other stellar musicians include: Ian Perry, Gina Griffin (Quirkish Delights, The Scoville Units), Paul Marshall (The Egg), Dave Johnston (Chair Fight), Gaz Williams (Marc Almond, Carl Barât, Karl Hyde), Jeff Spencer, Duncan Lutz, Zak Ranyard, Marcel Osborne, James Gardiner Bateman (Joss Stone, Michael Kiwanuka), James Morton (The HerbaliserPee Wee Ellis, Pork Chop), Craig Crofton, Ben Waghorn, Dan ‘Pinstripe’ Moore (Phantom Limb, Will Young, Percy Sledge), Djanan Turan, Andy Nowak, Fiona Barrow, Krissy Kriss, Imran Khan, Sarah Joy (Elephant Talk),  Holly Stoppit, Jokate Benson, Sisanda Myataza, Jim Blomfield, , Marcel Osbourne, Dave Savage.

This is playtime for musicians, draws upon a world of dance music influences, creates a more direct link with the audience drawing them into the performance, and intrinsically adapts to the particular crowd and venue which have ranged from festivals including many performances at Glastonbury, to pubs, clubs, parties and even weddings (very cool weddings!).